Sgvsports

coverage of prep and college sports throughout the valley

The Friday ritual

leave a comment »

It’s 3:00 PM on a friday. Usually, this is around the time I begin my “friday ritual” in preparation of covering prep football games for the San Gabriel Tribune. If it’s been a hectic week, I usually don’t get a chance to go out to a practice field and meet with the coach and or talk to players, so friday is the day I go cover the games.

I prepare by first reading up on both team’s results from the previous week, today that task was easier because I covered both teams individually last week and now they play each other, go figure! Or maybe the editor did this by design? At any rate, these assignments make it tough to develop the type of bonding a reporter usually engages in when their beat is to cover the same team from week to week.

By this, of course, I don’t mean bonding to favor one team or the other, but to be sort of embedded with a team, so the coaches and players get to know you and feel comfortable around you. Since I cover a different team from week to week, this is nearly impossible and of course, it makes it mandatory for me to read up or study on how the teams fared in previous contests so that I know what the hell I’m seeing when I get out there.

So my ritual goes something like this:

I get on Max preps, print out rosters for teams if they are available, read on the Tribune site about both teams and read the stats of notable players. By around 5 I start to prepare stuff, digital recorder for interviews, cell phone charged (for calling in scores), laptop and charger, directions to and from the game to the newspaper offices. Gate key to get in the building. Clipboard and plenty of  pens, paper and reporter’s notebook.

So there you have it, a not so fascinating glimpse into my friday routine.

Have a beer or a late meal after the story is filed if time permits, rinse, repeat the following week.

Written by sgvsports

October 1, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

