Sgvsports

coverage of prep and college sports throughout the valley

Mt. SAC ends up undefeated with 33-30 comeback win

leave a comment »

mt sac football

Mt. SAC comes from behind to take down PCC on saturday 33-30 will host a playoff game at home on Nov. 20 photo courtesy SGV Tribune

I had the night off from covering any games for the Trib, so on Saturday, despite the chilly weather,  I ventured into Hilmer Lodge Stadium for the first time this season to watch Mt. SAC play against their rival PCC Lancers.

It was a weird feeling to be sitting on the bleachers, instead of at the press box where I usually am.  Sports information director Brian Yokoyama even asked me, “Aren’t you supposed to be  in here?” pointing to the box, but I informed him I was there simply as a fan, Steve Ramirez was in the box covering the game for the Trib.

I have to say this was the first time I paid to watch a Mt. SAC football game in several years and the view is much better from up above. However, it was fun to be in the stands because it was packed with so many loyal and vociferous fans. I don’t recall the last time I saw so many people at a home game, so into the game. Work, school and other commitments had prevented me from checking out a Mt.SAC game, until now and it felt good to be “home” again.

It didn’t look good early for the Mounties though. Despite the mascot’s and cheerleaders’ best efforts to elicit some enthusiasm from the home crowd, the Lancers jumped on us early to a 21-3 lead and looked for a while to be primed to pull off the upset. My friend Veronica Grant, a former Mountaineer editor and Mt. SAC alumna works for event services and she texted me, seemingly worried about the score. I told her don’t worry, this game is far from over.

I was right, a touchdown pass from quarterback Nick Lamaison to Michael Edwards with 1:29 before halftime and a subsequent field goal kept the Mounties in the game and the halftime score was 27-16. It felt like Mt. SAC was finding their groove back and I could smell a comeback in the second half. I went down to grab some coffee to warm up my bones and settled in for the second half action. After Mt. SAC tied the score at 30-30 on a 26-yard run by Bryce McBride, I knew that they would hold on to win.  Jeremy Brown’s 26 yard field goal in the closing seconds guaranteed the win and a playoff game at home the following week.

I hope that fans will come out and experience the excitement for themselves this Saturday as the Mounties take on Bakersfield College at home in the first round of the playoffs. Kick-off is set for 6 P.M.

Written by sgvsports

November 15, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

